South Carolina Concealed Permit Laws/Restrictions South Carolina Gun Laws Open Carry: Prohibited in public areas Duty to Notify Law Enforcement: Required by law to notify the officer upon official contact or when ID requested State Parks: Concealed Carry by recognized licenses permitted Restaurants Serving Alcohol: No specific restriction. Firearms at Colleges: Allowed by permittee in closed compartment within vehicle Firearms at K-12 Schools: SC permitee may have loaded handgun secured in closed glove compartment console or trunk. Magazine Capacity Limitations: No restrictions Suppressor Ownership: Ownership lawful. Vehicle Possession by Non-Permitees: loaded handguns may be carried in a closed compartment. Rifles and shotguns may be loaded while in the trunk or passenger area except within state parks, recreational areas, or wildlife areas during hunting season. Firearm Law Uniformity: Firearm laws uniform throughout state. Permit Training Requirements: (a) a person who, within three years before filing an application, has successfully completed a basic or advanced handgun education course offered by a state, county, or municipal law enforcement agency or a nationally recognized organization that promotes gun safety. This education course must include, but is not limited to: (i) information on the statutory and case law of this State relating to handguns and to the use of deadly force; (ii) information on handgun use and safety; (iii) information on the proper storage practice for handguns with an emphasis on storage practices that reduces the possibility of accidental injury to a child; and (iv) the actual firing of the handgun in the presence of the instructor; Permit Issuing Authority: South Carolina Law Enforcement Division May/Shall Issue: Shall issue to Residents and Non-Residents with exceptions. State Website: http://www.sled.sc.gov/cwp.aspx?MenuID=CWP Length of Permit Validity: 5 years Permit Application Process: Applicants must include a non-refundable payment of $50.00 (certified check, cashier’s check, or money order) made payable to SLED. Applicants must submit a good quality photocopy of their state issued driver’s license or officially issued identification card. Resident aliens must provide a copy of their alien card from the Department of Homeland Security. Qualified nonresident applicants must submit a completed Real Property Tax Form (SLED Form R- 168). The following only apply to NEW permit applications: Applicants must submit an original completed, signed, and dated application. The CWP instructor must also sign the application. Applicants must submit two (2) complete, legible sets of fingerprint cards. Active duty military applicants must submit military orders. Retired or former military applicants must submit a copy of their DD214. Retired law enforcement officers exempt from paying the fee must submit proof of retirement benefits/pension documentation. Active/retired South Carolina law enforcement officers exempt from training must submit current legal and firearm training documentation. Out-of-state retired law enforcement officers (or those www.handgunlaw.us 3 whose certification has expired) must submit proof of graduation from a federal or state academy that included firearms training as a graduation requirement. Disabled veterans exempt from paying the fee must submit documentation from the VA indicating disability percentage. CWP training courses must have been completed within three years of filing the application. Training date, instructor certification number, and student number must be entered onto the application. You must submit a signed copy of the SLED CWP Instructor/Student Checklist with your application. Permit issued after February 11, 2014 will be valid for 5 years. Please mail all of this information to: CWP Application, SLED Data Center, P.O. Box 21398, Columbia, S.C. 29221-1398) Please Note: It will take approximately ninety (90) days to process your new application. Non-Resident Permits: Non-Residents may apply but have to own property in the state. Places Off Limits: Law enforcement office or facility; Detention or correctional facility; Courthouse or courtroom; Polling place on election days; Office of or the business meeting the governing body of a county, public school district, municipality, or special purpose district; School or college athletic event not related to firearms; Daycare or preschool facility; Place where federal law prohibits the carrying of firearms; Church or other established religious sanctuary unless express permission is given by the appropriate church official or governing body; Medical services facilities unless expressly authorized by the employer. Place clearly marked with a sign prohibiting the carrying of a concealable weapon on the premises pursuant to Sections 23-31-220 and 23-31-235. Except that a property owner or an agent acting on his behalf, by express written consent, may allow individuals of his choosing to enter onto property regardless of any posted sign to the contrary. Resident Permit Reciprocity: Disclaimer:While Concealed Carry Inc strives to maintain legal reference information updated on this website; you as the reader and gun owner are responsible to do any and all necessary research and consult with a local attorney before making any decisions. Concealed Carry Inc is not liable for any misinformation, inaccuracies, or actions taken based on this information. We are not attorneys and this information is not legal advice. If you see any information you feel is outdated or incorrect please contact us.